Chartiff DEM files

Help each other create new and amazing sailing areas.

Chartiff DEM files

Postby sailorgtd » Mon 21 Mar 2005 - 19:16

I'm brand new to the Sail Simulator world and am trying find out if sailing areas are available in addition to those within the software and posted in the sail sim site. Chartiff sells DEM charts. Are those usable as scenes or do they have to be worked/modified in Scenery Builder ( really shows my ignorance) ? I understand that I would need to add any objects/ buoys etc to customize the DEM charts but was hoping that the scene itself would be usable as is. . Appreciate any response.
Thanks
sailorgtd

Postby altug » Mon 21 Mar 2005 - 20:59

Wellcome Sailorgtd!

If you get a DEM chart you should work on it within the Scenery Builder before it becomes a sailable scenery. Once you create a scenery out of the DEM you got from Chartiff you can inesrt objects and buoys also with the help of Scenery Builder. You can read about building sceneries in Alex's and Barry's sites.

If you are interested to multiplayer I suggest you to join the multiplayer Join the group by sending an empty email to:
ssmbs-subscribe@yahoogroups.com
from your e-mail account that you want to communicate with this group.

Once you are a member, whenever you want to multiplay on a specific date at a specific time (GMT) either by joining a running server or by starting your own at 'Session Server', YOU CAN REACH TO CALL ALL MEMBER MULTIPLAYERS BY SENDING AN E-MAIL to the group:
ssmbs@yahoogroups.com
altug

Postby sailorgtd » Mon 21 Mar 2005 - 21:21

Thanks for the input!
I wasn't specific enough with my question. What I was wondering was if the elevations, colors and other data will automatically load from inported DEMs ( Chartiff ) in Scenery or do we have to open the DEM and create the elevations, color and other data in Scenery ourselves?
sailorgtd

Postby Barry » Sun 03 Apr 2005 - 18:28

George